Pump Up The Volume!

This blog title reminded me of one of my favorite albums, America’s Volume Dealer by Corrosion of Conformity. Anyway, I got hella volume in yesterday, I didn’t stop sweating for hours and I’m sore as shit today, especially my abs and calves, despite a very clean diet and *ughh* stretching.

hang clean: 185x3x5 Reps suck!

safety bar pause squat: 240×5, 200×5 These were terrible, my back didn’t feel right and I couldn’t get my hips to open up, so I decided to let these lay, since this is a scheduled deload week.

Anderson front squat (front squat out of pins): 225×10, 315×10, 365×10, 415×10 I think I used pin setting 22/21 (Kyle seems to have misnumbered one side) but I think I’m going to go lower from know on. I started with the bar just touching the bottom of my nipple, and I’m not sure that’s low enough to help boost my power clean. Also, I didn’t reset each rep completely, so I’m not sure how fitting the prefix “Anderson” really is, but at least I took a deep breath and got my weight under it on every rep. This seems to have made it easier to keep my chest up and give my back more work; less rounding over.

Safety squat bar one-leg calves: barx5x10

stiff-leg deadlifts; 185x5x10

one arm, one leg pressdown abs; 150x5x10

one arm dumbbell press: 50×50 reps

leg press: 6 plates x 3×10 These were pretty tough after all of that lockout work in the rack.

preacher curl: 45×10, 55×10, 75×10

My intent was to go for 5×10 on all the assistance work, but my work capacity is so low I cut a couple of them short on sets. I really didn’t feel like hurling in the gym. Next week will be a for-realsies training week so I’ll put a lot more effort into my main movements. I should be ready to rock and roll on the squat by next Friday, but we’ll see. We’re far enough out I have time to ease back into things.

Pump Up The Volume!

2 thoughts on “Pump Up The Volume!

  1. conorattack says:

    Bonus Attack! – My laptop is out of commission for a few days at least, so I’m not sure how reliable I’ll be at posting. I’d like to get back into regular posting and develop my readership even more, so please be patient and stay tuned.

Leave a comment