Still Running, Lifting, Eating Right

I’ve been keeping up the normal routine but doing a piss-poor job of logging it. It’s actually a very bad habit to get into because I have trouble remembering where I’m at on my waves if I don’t have previous logs to look back on.

Here’s what this week in training has looked like:

Sunday

foam rolling, stretching

Monday

Had to train early and I didn’t get up in time to do a metcon.

conventional deadlift: 135×2, 225×2, 315×1, 365×1, 405×1, 455×1, 475×3, 485×3

weighted pullup: bw+30 x 5,5,5,5,7.9 I called this 7.9 because Scoops said it was right at the bar but I definitely didn’t pull it as high as the other ones.

GHR: medium box incline: bw x 3 x 10 As soon as I get to BW x 3 x 15 I’m going to lower to the lowest box and repeat.

random pull aparts

Tuesday – AM

30 minutes on the elliptical

Tuesday – PM

military press: 45×3, 95×3, 135×1, 155×1, 175×1, 185×1, 195x3x3 I used an open grip here and it felt good. I often use an open grip if folks complain about their wrists, elbows or shoulders, since it “unlocks” the kinetic chain and introduces a little more play.

random leg press shoulder press: plates x 10,10,8

reverse curl: worked up to 85 x 3 x 10

Other random curl things, I think.

Wednesday – AM

walked on the treadmill for 30 mins. For some reason this really bothered my shins/peroneals.

Wednesday – PM
Had to train early again… it sucked. I also had to wear my backup Chucks which are, ironically, in better shape than my normal pair.

low box squat: bw x lots, empty bar x lots, 135 x couple

parallel box squat: 135×1, 225×1, 315×1

free squat: 315×1, 345×3,3,4

pistol, large box + bumper: bw x 12 per side

Thursday early PM:

warmed up thoroughly then “ran” four 200’s at about a 36 second pace. I know, I know. That’s terrible. I concede that, but it’s a start, it’s definitely good for my conditioning and it doesn’t beat up my feet/shins. These were done about an hour ago and I’m still hot and tired so I know they’re doing something. This was a faster average pace, more volume and I felt better than last week.


Still Running, Lifting, Eating Right

Leave a Reply

