Bench Day – Down But Not Out

Well, this was the worst benching day I’ve had in a while now. If I reflect on it, it’s about as good as my meet PR and I hit it for a double. My hips were real tight and my setup didn’t feel right, combined with a more stressful workday than normal, I just wasn’t on my “A” game. Oh, also, I worked out my grip one finger in my warmup, which may have something to do with it.

bench, middle finger on rings: 45×5, 95×2, 135×1, 185×1, 225×1, 245×1, 275×1, 295×1, 315×1

bench, pinkie inside rings: 335×1, 350x2x2 Friday I had a quart of icecream for lunch, which made me realize I haven’t been taking care of my protein needs like I should, which certainly doesn’t help make PR’s.

Scoops Row: 155x3x10, 185 x 3 x 10 I’ve been working on these pretty hard and trying to get the form the way Kyle wants it. I think I’ve been doing them twice a week. Superset with:

wide grip bench, index finger outside ring: 225 x 5 x 10

machine face pull (setup so row to clavicles or higher) 45 x 2 x 20

light band terminal knee extension: 2 x 30

dumbbell loaded prestretcher crunch: 125 x 10 These felt fine, oddly enough, but they caused me severe ab cramps that left me on the floor for several minutes. Usually I can tell if I overdo these but it really caught me by surprise this time.

Oh, and I finished up with a couple sets of 20 band pull aparts. I like to watch in the mirror and was trying to do these with good posture, which I think helped strain my abs.

Bench Day – Down But Not Out

Leave a Reply

