GPP Circuit 05/19/09

I had a client tonight so I came in late and did a circuit for GPP. As a strength athlete I’m not sure at what point GPP becomes SPP. I guess for someone with non-specific (or “general fitness”) goals there is no difference between SPP and GPP. Anyway…

  1. Mountain Climbers
  2. Toy Soldiers
  3. Lunges
  4. Air Squats
  5. Pullup-reach-climb
  6. pushups
  7. situps
  8. inverted row
  9. flutter kick
  10. dumbbell swingbicycles (bikes)
  11. bicycles, bike
  12. One-leg Romanian Deadlift (1LRDL)

I’m not sure I wrote these in the same order I did them, but it’s pretty close. The only thing I would have liked to add is some kind of burpee or an 8-ct bodybuilder, but I’ve found that bothers my back a little bit because of the tail-under flexed posture I get at count 7. Whatever.

I did 30 seconds of each movement and moved [as] directly [as possible] to the next station.  This innovation was suggested by Kyle as something he did at Central College. I did the circuit three times.

A pullup-reach-climb sequence is something I thought up because pullups are just too hard right now. I can’t do 30 seconds of consecutive pullups so instead of half assing it I came up with something to fill the time and also seems pretty useful. Our squat rack has a pullup bar and a crossmember above it, so I do a pullup on the bar, then reach up to the crossmember with one hand, then the other, then do a full pullup. Then I transfer the hands back to the pullup bar one at a time and finish at a dead hang.

GPP Circuit 05/19/09

Leave a Reply

