Hella Bench Volume

Seems like we sure got a lot of volume tonight. Looking back, I think I’ve made my best bench gains after a lot of bench volume/frequency, but not from bench accessory work. Stuff like extensions, pressdowns and dumbbell work doesn’t do much for me. So, instead of doing that, I did a bunch of bench/bench variety work.

medium grip bench: 135×3, 185×3, 205×3, 225×3, 275×3, 295×3, 315×2

reverse band bench, light bands: 225×3, 275×3, 325×3, 365×1, 365×2, 315x5x3

one-arm hammer preacher: 40×8, two sets with left arm

knuckle pushups, feet on 12″ box: bwx12, bwx10

ez bar curl: 125×3, 135×3, 135×2

axle bench: 80x2x10

eccentric only dip: 40 seconds

eccentric only close grip chin: 35 seconds I’m not sure this is right, but it’s close. I know I didn’t go as long as I did on the dip.

YTWL: 8×8, 5×8

We did some extra stretching and what-not at the end, because we were both very pumped. I know I haven’t had a pump in my arms like that for a long time. Now I just wish my hands and fingers would stop shaking so I can type.

Hella Bench Volume

Leave a Reply

