Rep Bench Training and Personal Reflection

This was a pretty decent rep bench day. We skipped jerks and moved right into the bench. My elbows felt pretty good today too.I warmed up with two sets of crazy bell bench and felt super strong.Then I moved up to:

bench press: 225×3, 245×2, 275×2, 315×3.5, 275×7, 245×10, 225×12 I was kind of dissapointed, I thought I was going to be able to get 315 for 4 or 6 reps, but it was just over reaching today.

military: 135×8? I did as many reps as I could do strict, then moved to push press and did a couple more. I want to try these on some day when I don’t bench first so I can see how strong I really am.

random band pushup baloney

one arm hammer preacher: 25x2x10

ez bar curl: 75×4, 125x5x4

axle curl: 70x3x10

close grip chin: one eccentric that I held as long as I could

I feel like I did something else, but I just can’t think of it.

Anyway, something just occurred to me. Will I ever be strong enough? Is that how it works, that one day you meet some magic number and do it right? How do you know you had a good workout, is it the weight you hit? I don’t think so. I think it’s about putting out an honest effort, giving it a fair go. That’s all I’ve ever really wanted to accomplish, was to find out what I would accomplish by giving it an honest effort. That would be accomplishment and victory to me, to be able to look back and know that I didn’t stop, I didn’t half-ass and I didn’t give up. I didn’t blow it for myself.

If I can do that, workout to workout and year to year, I’ll be happy and the extrinsic achievements will come on their own. I think this is true in the gym, on the platform and in real life.

Rep Bench Training and Personal Reflection

Leave a Reply

