Hella Squat Day

box jump (22″): I don’t remember what I used for these, but I sat down on a bench and held dumbbells and jumped onto the boxes.

hang clean: 135×3, 185×3, 205×3, 225x2x2, 225×5 PR on the hang clean, both for weight and reps.

free squat: 135×2, 225×2, 315×2, 365×5, 405×3, 425×1, 455×1 PR This was the most I’ve ever squatted in the gym. I’ve box squatted more, but not this deep.

Anderson front squat: 315×5, 365×5, 405x2x5

curl grip stiff leg: 225×5, 275x3x5

SSB calves: skipped!

one arm one leg pressdown abs: 190x5x5

leg press: 4 platesx6, 6 platesx6, 7 platesx6, 8 platesx6

preacher curl: 75×5, 85×5, 95×5? I don’t really remember what I used here. It’s not that important.

one arm press: 65×50

This was a hell of a workout. My neck was all messed up for a couple days. I don’t know what it was from, but I was trying to use a little different form on my squats. Instead of pulling my elbows back, I started pulling them forward, so my elbows are more underneat the bar instead of behind. I read in one of Dave Tate’s articles that pulling the elbows back will force you to round forward and bow out, which is one of the problems I keep having on heavy squats. According to my spotters, this helped. They said that last single was slow, but it was super deep and instead of rounding over I pressed back into the bar and kept it going. Good ’nuff.

Hella Squat Day

Leave a Reply

