Palatable Pulling Pageantry

Alright, so I just like alliterative Attack!-titles. We did some pulling and some snatches today, neither of which were very satisfying. I put a little weight back on and I definitely don’t think that helps the setup for the deadlift.

hang snatch: 135×3, 155×3 I think that’s all I did. I’ll be sweeping next time I think.

conventional deadlift against double quad mini bands: 225×1, 315×1, 365×1, 405×1, 455×1, 485xmiss

cable rows: 212.5×6 was the top set I think

I thought we did facepulls but I don’t remember actually doing them.

close grip bench: 225x3x5, 245x2x

extra back-Attack! – backwards low-box safety bar: 150×20

A report from our powerlifting ladies:

rack pull from the knee: They worked up to 225×5, which seems pretty damn impressive in my book.

bench press: Their top set was something like 65×6 or 8. Neither of the ladies have the advantage of my Tyrannosaurus-like short limbs or refrigerator-thick torso, so they’ve got to learn how to decrease their stroke. There are a lot of cues to learn on the powerlifts, despite their reputation as non-technical lifts and they’re doing a great job for their third week of serious training.

goblet squat: I just saw them doing these from a distance and they looked good. I think they were trying to get away from me by sneaking to the other room. Luckily these lifts tend to coach themselves and Pam and Kristen are doing a good job of working on their cues and watching each other’s form. I gratuitously borrowed these from the writings of Dan John. On a related note, I can’t wait until we get our hydraulic squat rack so it’ll be easier for the whole team to squat together.

Palatable Pulling Pageantry

2 thoughts on “Palatable Pulling Pageantry

  1. Marko says:

    Hey Conor, aside from this entry I dug around here and found that push/pull routine that you posted for me. Sorry I missed that, I think it was right the first few weeks I was on break and nowhere near a computer. Anyways thank you very much, and look for me to start following this starting next week, possibly this week if I get healthier in a day or two.

Leave a Reply

