Wow – Just Wow

I haven’t ever been as proud of myself or my club as I am tonight. We had most of our prospective team assembled to train together tonight, and everyone just blasted.

We started out doing hang snatch while our two new female lifters warmed up with some supine bridges and hip flexor stretches. While we finished our snatches the ladies did rack pulls from the knee for sets of five.

hang snatch: 135×3, 155×3, 155×3, 165×3?, 175×3, 185xmiss PR for me on the snatch. I think Kyle got 205 for one or two. Our other partner broke a strap, which looked pretty cool when the bar got launched asymmetrically through the air.

We moved to the rack and the girls hopped on board the platform for front squats.

double mini band deadlft: 135×1, 225×1, 365×1, 405×1, 455×1, 475×1 This was a big pull for me. I strapped up, shook and fought against a long pull but made it. I’m proud to say I left the bar bloodied and seeing stars.

high box speed squat against medium bands: 225x2x2, 275×2, 315×2, 365×2

The ladies did some benching while we finished our squats, then they tackled some face pulls and reverse shrugs. With their “free time” at the end of “practice” they did several different ab exercises and some stretching.

band bench against doubled minis: 135x2x3, 185×2, 205×2

machine row: 115x6x8

face pull: 5x2x15

ez bar curl: 125x4x2

All in all, I’m delighted with the way things went. I can’t stress how proud I am of our new lifters for stepping to the plate and giving an A effort. We’re going to have two strong ladies representing us this season (maybe more)! I think those of us returning from last season are poised to make big totals at nationals and set some PR’s. As for the club, we’re finally pulling in students who are excited to participate and compete, and I couldn’t be happier.

Bonus Scale Attack! I weighed in just under 250 after training tonight. I now have a little slack with my belt on the skinniest hole. How do you put more holes in a belt like that? A drill? I hope I’m not giving anything up to the competition, but I’ve never been a very strategic competitor.

Wow – Just Wow

One thought on “Wow – Just Wow

  1. Philipk says:

    Sounds great! Finally someone got something organized. Great Job Conor.

    I would say though that you probably shouldn’t mention snatches and ladies in the same sentence.

Leave a Reply

