Training – Whatever

I don’t remember exactly what I did, I’m sure it was lackluster and unimpressive. I’m ready to start training for my meet. I’m going to come up with some kind of cycle. There are 14 weeks till NASA Unequipped Nationals, including this week and meet week. I just don’t know how I want to organize it, I wish Phil would give me some feedback. I just know I don’t feel like taking this week off, but I will probably deload since I’ve seen some of my lifts slip. Then I’ll do the Iowa Games bench press on Sunday and be ready for a regular mesocycle.

This session I did:

ez bar curl: 145×4,2,2

one arm barbell reverse curls: 45×10

seated calves: 90x3x6 explosive, with long pauses

free low-bar squat: 315×1, 365×1, 405×3, 455xmiss

one-arm pushdown abs: 170x2x10

I’m almost reluctant to announce this to my blog-reading public, but on Zeb’s advice, I think I’m going to drop down to about 245-250 so I can lift at Nationals as a 242. I know, I feel like a puss. Weightloss is not a manly endeavor.

Training – Whatever

2 thoughts on “Training – Whatever

  1. Philipk says:

    Well, Conor I would say dropping down to 242 will be a good move, as long as you do it smart, don’t try to drop 20 lbs in the last two weeks, I would make sure you gradually drop the weight up until the meet.

    The biggest thing in peaking at the right time, but you know that. This is what I normally do, my core lifts are usually 4 sets and range from 8-2 reps during the first 8 weeks, I usually work from 4 x 8 down to a 4 x 2 on week eight, increasing weights on my final set by 10-20 lbs/week. During the last 6 weeks I try to cut back on the intensity but increas the weight. Usually I do 3 sets and reps range from 6-2. I can email you an example of my last training schedule if you would like.

  2. conorattack says:

    That’s basically what Zeb told me re weight loss, if I have time, I might as well just drop those extra 10 or 15 pounds the right way so I can slide in as a 242 at the weigh in. The biggest thing, I think, will be booze. I’m not even that interested in drinking anymore, I just do it because I always think it will help me get some play. In retrospect, if it has an effect at all its negative, since I can be such a huge dick when I drink. But I digress…

    I also need to get my squat form fixed so it’s more like my box squat form. A few weeks ago I hit 435×6 off a box, but I missed 455 in a free squat. I’m pretty stoked to start training like a powerlifter again. I feel like my lifts are going to blow up when I throw in some max effort singles, doubles and triples.

Leave a Reply

