Bad Chest Training – But Good Deadlifting

I feel like I’m sandbagging my upper body training. I sort of have an excuse today, because our gym doesn’t have 130’s, so I tried to move up from 125’s to 135’s and couldn’t quite get it. I’ll have to really pour the heat on next time and get a ton of reps with the 125’s, otherwise I’ll have to switch that movement out. I also felt like shit in the gym today, I don’t know why. It was a little hotter today than it has been, and I haven’t been eating any cottage cheese. It’s hard for me to believe that casein has been making that big a difference, but next time I get groceries I’ll throw it back in and see how it does.

db flat press: 75×5, 135×4, 125×4,4,1

bb overhead press: 165x6x1x1

reverse scrape-the-rack press: 205×15,5,5 Nice!

conventional deadlift: 315×1, 405×1, 455×1, 500×4, 425×10 These last two sets were both PR’s for that many reps.

wide grip lat pulldown: 14×10,5,3

I definitely understand why Dante says no direct trap work, I feel my traps after pretty much every upper body day.I feel like from the nipples up I’m already looking more jacked, and my triceps are looking pretty good. I can’t wait to see how this is going to play out over the summer.

Bad Chest Training – But Good Deadlifting

3 thoughts on “Bad Chest Training – But Good Deadlifting

  1. conorattack says:

    Yeah, so do I! A reverse rack press is a substitute for a smith bench press. It’s just a reverse grip bench press where you slide the bar along the upright inside the power rack. It keep the bar in a straight bath, and by actively pressing the bar against the rack, you seem to get more triceps activation.

Leave a Reply

