OMG A Pump!- Make It Stop!

I was itching to get into the gym today. While I would normally take an entire week off training, I decided to go ahead and train because I’m really switching gears.

I’m trying “Dogg Crapp” training, and it totally kicked my ass. I am not used to such high reps. Training like this is completely foreign to me. I can’t wait till next time when I can fine tune my weights and get better sets.

DB flat press: 125×7,2,1 RP (rest-pause) This means I did a set, took about a dozen deep breaths and then did another set, then once more, each time ot failure.

barbell overhead press: 165×5, 1, 1 This was terrible. I think I didn’t rest long enough, and I’m just not s strong overhead as I thought. Those singles were pretty much all I had.

reverse grip rack smith press: 185×15, 5, 2 This is kind of hard to explain. It’s a way to simulate a Smith machine press. You set up in the rack with a bench and use a reverse rip (palms facing you) and press the bar up against the inside of the rack, so the bar path is a straight line. The bar should be towards your belly, pressing towards your feet. These really fried my tri’s.

conventional deadlift: 315×1, 405×1, 475×4, 405×10 That set of ten floored me. I fought the urge to upchuck all the way home.

wide grip pulldown: 13×10, 6, 3

Then I did the extreme stretches for bi’s, shoulders, chest, lats and tri’s. I can’t say I’ve felt this bad immediately after/during training for as long as I can remember, and I can tell I’m going to be sore tomorrow, especially my traps.

FYI, I’m working on a write-up of my experience in West Texas. For now, I’ll just say I PR’ed my squat and bench and met my PR on the dead. 462-353-551 for a 1366 total. I’ll be cracking 1400 in no time, and then on to 1500. Maybe even by nationals in October.

OMG A Pump!- Make It Stop!

2 thoughts on “OMG A Pump!- Make It Stop!

  1. Marko says:

    Well at least somebody is working hard this week. I wonder how empty that gym must be this week?

    Anyways, Conor I sent you a email about the club site if you could look at it sometime today that would be great.

    Have a good time feeling that pump and training.

Leave a Reply

