Post-workout Beverage and HCL Experience

Just in case anyone cares, I thought I would include my post-workout beverage recipe.

  • 25 grams of maltodextrin (one 25 cc scoop)
  • 25 grams of glucose/dextrose (one 25 cc scoop)
  • 7-10 grams BCAA’s
  • 7-10 grams whey protein (one 25 cc scoop)
  • 5 grams creatine monohydrate
  • 2-4 grams beta-alanine (two 1.7cc scoops)
  • 200 mg R-ala (Note, this is the R isomer, not the mixed or racemic form)
  • 20 mg vanadyl sulfate

I prefer to use ice water or cold water from the fridge and about 800ml to 1L of water. By diluting the mixture, you are decreasing the osmolality (the number of non-water molecules in the mixture) and increasing absorption speed (gastric emptying). The cold temperature may have a similar effect. It’s kind of a pain in the ass to pound a liter of ice water after you workout, but hey, that part is free!

Note, you could substitute simple table sugar for the maltodextrin and dextrose. Also, I would use the vanadyl and R-ALA sparingly. Good times would be with your post-workout beverage and before you hit the Chinese Buffet.

On an unrelated note, I’ve been experimenting with betaine hcl per my previous post. It turns out, after actually reading the bottle, that I’ve been using up to five 650mg tablets with my large solid meals, which works out to 3250 mg of betaine per sitting. That’s hella betaine. On the one hand, I haven’t experienced any adverse reactions and I have been enjoying seemingly improved digestion. On the other hand, the Poliquin article that I originally referenced said not to exceed seven 200mg capsules.

I’ve read mention of, althought I have not red the primary text, that Jonathan Wright MD’s “Why Stomach Acid is Good For You” indicates a dose on par with what I’ve been doing.

I think I’m going to reduce my dose, mainly in the interest of prolonging how long my supply will last and just to be prudent.

Post-workout Beverage and HCL Experience

Leave a Reply

