My Mighty GI Tract

So, I read something some time ago about Charles Poliquin and low stomach acid. Basically, Poliquin (I really want to refer to him as “Chuck” but I don’t know him personally and he seems like the kind of guy who wouldn’t take kindly to it) says that a lot of us have low stomach acid and it keeps us from assimilating all of our food and the supplements we use. Poliquin claims that rectifying this often leads to quick muscle gains and decrease a litany of other symptoms.

To fix this, you use betaine hydrochloride (HCL). Start with a single dose of betaine hcl (200-300mg) during a high protein meal, and increase it until you feel a burning “hot tea” like sensation. Then, leave it there until that dose starts to burn, and gradually reduce it. Supposedly you’ll have normalized your own stomach acid by that point. Now, this sounds a little backwards; why would your body start producing more acid when you’re giving it supplemental acid? If indeed it works, I think it’s probably because it normalizes your gut flora and allows your dysfunctional poop chute to heal itself. Whatever the mechanism, I guess we’ll see if it works.

I started this morning with a couple beef patties and one tablet. My latest meal was two beef patties and a cup of cottage cheese with three tablets, and I don’t feel a thing. I should probably note, Poliquin has said not to exceed seven 200mg tablets at one dose. If I need to, I’ll probably go as high as five 300mg tablets, but I don’t think I’ll go any higher.

I’m also a pretty big fan of Dr. D’Adamo’s Blood Type Diet, so I know that as an O blood type I’m not at as large a risk of having low stomach acid than other blood types, but I figure it’s cheap enough to check it out.

This is one of the reasons, aside from my Libertarian bend, that I resist regulating dietary supplements. Using your body as a laboratory is fun and it’s no one’s fault but your own if you fuck it up.

My Mighty GI Tract

Leave a Reply

