Wacky Wednesday Workout

For whatever reason, I just wasn’t feeling it today. I didn’t think there was any reason to really put the peddle to the metal if everything wasn’t clicking. Like the aphorism says “Live to fight another day.”

On another note, I’m sick and tired of being one of the strongest guys in the gym. I wish I was stronger than I am now and still the weakest guy in the gym. I’m tired of guys acting like I’m some kind of bad ass because I have numbers on the North suburb of mediocre. Chase me, I’ll chase a guy stronger than me, and we’ll all get stronger. Complacency doesn’t do anything for anyone.

conventional deadlift: 225×3, 315×3, 405×1, 405×3, 455×1, 455×3, 475xnone My back still doesn’t feel right, like I’ve got plenty of horsepower and a shoddy transmission.

competition grip bench: 295×6 This is equal to my best effort at this rep range, and I did it with no warm-up, just to rile Phil up. Too bad he’s cool as a cucumber.

close grip bench: 315×2? Not my best effort at this grip.

dumbbell incline bench: 105×7 A slightly lower incline than I normally use, it was an ego boost for sure, but decent nonetheless.

GHR: 2×1, with s-l-o-w negative and then a [harder than usual] concentric

dumbbell shoulder press: 50×15, 60×8

tricep pressdown: 6×25, rest pause

concentration curl: 40×3,2,1,3,2,1,3,2,1,3,2,1 I think this is the same concept as what Pavel Tsatsouline calls “ladders”.

Stretches, especially the bi and tricep stretch yielded quite a pump.

I did some improvised reverse hypers by stacking up some boxes next to the wooden stall bars. Luckily, it looks like the club is going to buy an actual reverse hyper, so I’m psyched.

Wacky Wednesday Workout

2 thoughts on “Wacky Wednesday Workout

  1. Philipk says:

    Man that is what I call fast. I talked w/ 2 guys about hogs, called my mom and checked my email and was bored so I thought I would check your blog and you already have today’s up. Man that’s fast.

    Good Bench! By the way you should outbench me, you out weigh me by 90lbs.

    I hope my numbers on the North Side of Mediocre keep you motivated.

  2. conorattack says:

    Well, I aim to please. I saw a Dave Tate interview where they asked him how to instantly boost your bench, and he said something like “Get fatter than hell, take a lot of drugs and buy a bench shirt.” I was like, “Sweet, one out of three ain’t bad!”

Leave a Reply

