Real Meet Preparation Training

Well, tonight was definitely just one of the ‘punching the clock’ days. I’m not sure I should have dropped deadlifts from my meet after all. Like Phil said, just to keep my form right. I also need to take more warm-up sets before my work sets. I went right from 405 to 455 when I should have taken a few more warmup reps or sets.

conventional deadlift: 315×5, 405×3, 455×1, 425x2x5, 445×6 That’s probably a PR at six reps in the deadlift.

I was going to do one set of heavy rack pulls and then safety squat bar lunges, but I just didn’t feel up to it to do lunges, and I’ve never felt right doing rack pulls. I feel like I’m not getting my hips in the right place and I’m going to stiff-leg every rep and hurt myself. Maybe I’d be better off doing a single set of full rnge deads against bands or chains.

leg curl: 120×6? I was just messing around. I might throw in some heavy leg curls but I’d rather just cowboy up and do GHR’s.

speed bench: 205x4x3 These felt super fast at both hand positions. I usually use three hand positions when I do my speed work, but with only four sets it doesn’t add up right, so I use narrow and wide.

log press: 205×5, 0 I tried to rest-pause these but I didn’t get as many reps as I’d wanted. 20 pounds was just too big a jump in one week, but when you’re feeling froggy you need to leap.

one arm dumbbell overhead shrug: These sucked, but I tried to make them work anyway. I think it might be an alright exercise, but I’d need to do higher reps.

reverse cable curl: 6x2x8, 7×8

I need to get back into the groove of real training again. The last couple weeks were fun, but in retrospect, I should have stuck to a more purposeful training schedule to stay on track for the next meet.

Real Meet Preparation Training

One thought on “Real Meet Preparation Training

Leave a Reply

