My First Full Meet

I’m still awake, after driving through some pretty nasty weather and running on some [awesome] gas-station coffee, so I thought I’d share my first meet results.

I wound up going eight for nine, the only lift I missed all day was my third attempt bench press, which was just an overenthusiastic attempt.

I wound up going 435 (197.5)-335(152.5)-546(247.5) for a 1317(597.5) total at 264 and change, supporting a first place standing for our team.

It went pretty well and I’m particularly pleased that I made all my squats. My nerves were pretty bad going into it, and I feel like my squat is poised to improve greatly with this new infusion of confidence. My bench was uneventful, and I feel like training it has taken a back seat to squat and deadlift lately. On my deadlift I did something stupid and tweaked something in my groin during warmups. I can’t complain because I went on to pull a 30 pound PR, but it just goes to show that you shouldn’t change things at the meet.

There were some really big lifts and very good lifters. There were also a large number of high school lifters, which is surprising and encouraging.

I’ll post some more info and pictures later.

My First Full Meet

One thought on “My First Full Meet

Leave a Reply

