Why I’m not an Honors Student

Sitting in one of my classes today I came up with a list of maximal effort lower body movements that I have the equipment for:

  1. Manta Ray + cambered bar – high box – narrow stance
  2. Manta Ray + cambered bar – parallel box – narrow stance
  3. Manta Ray + cambered bar – low box – narrow stance
  4. Manta Ray + cambered bar – high box – medium stance
  5. Manta Ray + cambered bar – parallel box – medium stance
  6. Manta Ray + cambered bar – low box – medium stance
  7. Manta Ray – high box – narrow stance
  8. Manta Ray – parallel box – narrow stance
  9. Manta Ray – low box- narrow stance
  10. Manta Ray – high box – medium stance
  11. Manta Ray – parallel box – medium stance
  12. Manta Ray – low box – medium stance
  13. Front Squat – narrow stance
  14. Front Squat – medium stance
  15. Front Squat with cambered bar – narrow stance
  16. Front Squat with cambered bar – medium stance
  17. Zercher Squat out of pins with axle
  18. Zercher Squat on to box with axle
  19. Zercher Squat out of pins with EZ curl bar
  20. Zercher Squat on to box with EZ curl bar
  21. Good Morning – Manta Ray + cambered bar – narrow stance
  22. Good Morning – Manta Ray + cambered bar – medium stance
  23. Good Morning – Manta Ray + cambered bar – wide stance
  24. Good Morning – Manta Ray – narrow stance
  25. Good Morning – Manta Ray – medium stance
  26. Good Morning – Manta Ray – wide stance
  27. Good Morning – low bar – narrow stance
  28. Good Morning – low bar – medium stance
  29. Good Morning – low bar – medium stance
  30. Rack Pull – narrow stance
  31. Rack Pull – medium stance
  32. Sumo Pull
  33. Sumo Pull – off of plywood
  34. Snatch Grip Pull from floor
  35. Snatch Grip Pull off of plywood
  36. Snatch Grip Pull off of 8″ box
  37. Trap Bar Pull
  38. Farmer’s Pick

They’re each special in their own way, and I’d like to think I’ll use each of them as I progress in my training. Now, bear in mind this is a list for me, so I didn’t include any squats with a super wide stance. Reason being, I’ll continue to do my speed work with a wide stance, so there’s not much sense in duplicating that movement for my heavy work. I’ll also continue to periodically work up during my speed day, so I’m not really worried about losing my top end.

If anyone else has any good ideas, let me know.

Why I’m not an Honors Student

Leave a Reply

